Your basket is empty

Categories :

Similar artists


Jazz - Released April 26, 2019 | Enter The Jungle

Booklet Distinctions Qobuzissime
Download not available
In early 2018, the compilation We Out Here released on Gilles Peterson's label burst onto the young British jazz scene, revealing his dynamism, his energy and above all, his eclecticism. Many attribute saxophonist Shabaka Hutchings (Sons of Kemet, The Comet is Coming, Melt Yourself Down...) as the leader of this trend: a role he has always refused to embody. The boundaries of this jazz, as with musicians of this generation, are deliberately blurred, and the five members of Ezra Collective were all present on this Qobuzissime compilation. With You Can't Steal My Joy, the London group led by drummer Femi Koleoso finally signed their first album. In 2017, their EP Juan Pablo: The Philosopher (which closed with a beautiful cover of Sun Ra's Space is the Place) was a sensation, winning numerous awards and offering a very Afrobeat vision of jazz. These unique qualities can be found on this ultra-funky opus. With Joe Armon Jones on keyboards, TJ Koleoso on double bass, Dylan Jones on trumpet and James Mollison on saxophone, Koleoso orchestrates a refreshingly festive symphony focusing on brass and rhythms: a hybrid made of afrobeat, jazz, hip hop, reggae, Caribbean music and soul. And to better reflect this panoramic vision, Ezra Collective goes on this multi-colored journey with soul sister Jorja Smith (Reason in Disguise), rapper Loyle Carner (What Am I to Do?) and the afrobeat group Kokoroko (Shakara). All that's left is to enjoy this beautiful, eclectic parade of groovy landscapes. © Marc Zisman/Qobuz