Cart 0

Your cart is empty

The Funkees

Language available : english

Formed in the late 1960s, The Funkees was a Nigerian afro-rock group. Originally an army band that formed after the Nigerian Civil War, the group was comprised of Harry Mosco (guitar/vocals), Chyke Madu (drums/vocals), Sonny Akpabio (congas), Jake N. Sollo (guitar/keyboards/vocals), Danny Heibs (bass/vocals), Mohammed Ahidjo (percussion/vocals), Roli Paterson (bongos), and Tony Mallett (percussion/vocals). With songs sung in English and Igbo, the group was known for their funky and upbeat style of afro-rock. In 1973, the group relocated to London, England and became very popular on the West African and West Indian music scenes. They released their debut album, Point of No Return, in 1974. Two years later, the Funkees released their second album Now I’m a Man (1976) but broke up the following year. While they never achieved enormous commercial success, their influence was felt through the community, and they were reappraised with the release of the 2012 compilation album Dancing Time: The Best of Easter Nigeria’s Afro Rock Exponents 1973-77.

©Copyright Music Story Stephen Schnee 2021
Read more


1 album(s) • Sorted by Bestseller

1 of 1
1 of 1

My favorites

Cet élément a bien été <span>ajouté / retiré</span> de vos favoris.

Sort and filter releases