Cart 0

Your cart is empty

Ólafur Arnalds

Ólafur Arnalds is a multi-instrumentalist, composer, and producer who started as a drummer for a series of metal bands in his native Iceland. His entry into the neo-classical field was somewhat accidental. After German band Heaven Shall Burn heard some solo demo material, they asked him to provide piano-and-string pieces for their 2004 album Antigone. The label Erased Tapes heard the album, was impressed with Arnalds' contributions, and contacted him about recording a full album of material in that vein. The life-cycle concept album "Eulogy for Evolution", released in 2007, was the result, with Arnalds – primarily on piano – supported by a string quartet. A trio of EPs followed in 2008 and 2009. In 2010, Arnalds provided the scores for the 13-minute short Blinky TM and the feature-length Órói (Jitters), and he also released "…And They Have Escaped the Weight of Darkness", his second proper album. His score for Sam Levinson's "Another Happy Day" (2011) greatly increased his profile, as he continued to release works like "Stare" (2012) – a collaborative EP with Nils Frahm – and "For Now I Am Winter" (2013). Later that year, Arnalds' scored the BBC television series "Broadchurch", which produced its own soundtrack.


113 album(s) • Sorted by Bestseller

My favorites

Cet élément a bien été <span>ajouté / retiré</span> de vos favoris.

Sort and filter releases