Categories :

Similar artists



Classical - Released September 17, 2015 | La Dolce Volta

Hi-Res Booklet Distinctions 4F de Télérama

Classical - Released November 30, 2018 | harmonia mundi

Hi-Res Booklet
What an excellent idea; to introduce an almost unpublished work by Messiaen through Debussy's Twelve Studies (1915). Here, Roger Muraro, who worked with Messiaen and Yvonne Loriod for many years, offers us an analytical reading of Debussy, which is perfectly suited to this late ensemble by Debussy. Messiaen proposes his restitution of a work that remained unfinished; Fauvette de l'Hérault, whose original format was to be a piano concerto, commissioned in 1962 for the centenary of Debussy's birth – we’ve come full circle - and remained as planned. Messiaen recycled some of the materials into his Sept Haïkaï, but the rest of the score was considered lost until the piano part resurfaced a few years ago. Muraro reorganizes, assembles and reconstructs a coherence entirely in the spirit of Messiaen, specifying of course that each note is indeed Messiaen without subtraction or addition: he has confined himself to the immense work of architecture. This is a kind of concerto for solo piano - very convincing. © SM/Qobuz

Classical - Released January 1, 2002 | Deutsche Grammophon (DG)