Cart 0

Your cart is empty

Beethoven Orchester Bonn

The Beethoven Orchester Bonn is based in the city of Bonn, Germany, the birthplace of composer Ludwig van Beethoven. The ensemble was first formed in Koblenz in 1897, then relocated to Bonn in 1906, where it became the municipal orchestra in 1907. In 1916, the orchestra was disbanded due to a lack of financial support, and though it was re-formed in 1920, it faced more difficulties brought on by the Great Depression and World War II. The Beethovenhalle, the orchestra's concert hall, was destroyed in a bombing attack, so it was rebuilt in 1959. The orchestra has been conducted by many greats, including Richard Strauss, Max Reger, Fritz Busch, Max Bruch, Paul Hindemith, Erich Kleiber, Joseph Keilberth, Karl Böhm, Rudolf Kempe, Sergiu Celibidache, Günter Wand, and Kurt Masur. Other conductors have held positions with the orchestra, such as Dennis Russell Davies, Marc Soustrot, and Roman Kofman. Stefan Blunier, who was chief musical director of the City of Bonn, became the principal conductor in 2008.
© TiVo
Read more


12 album(s) • Sorted by Bestseller

1 of 1
1 of 1

My favorites

Cet élément a bien été <span>ajouté / retiré</span> de vos favoris.

Sort and filter releases