Carrinho de compras 0

Serviço indisponível no momento.

Hawthorne Heights

One of the biggest breakout successes of the new millennial emo-punk explosion, Hawthorne Heights found tremendous success with their first two albums, both of which went gold; their 2006 single "Saying Sorry" also earned gold status. The Ohio-based band endured personal hardships, numerous lineup changes, and a landscape of shifting musical styles over the years. Still, they continued to hone their particular brand of angst-fueled pop-punk into the 2010s and beyond, issuing their eighth studio album, The Rain Just Follows Me, in 2021. Composed of drummer Eron Bucciarelli, bassist Matt Ridenour, vocalist/guitar player J.T. Woodruff, and guitarists Casey Calvert and Micah Carli, Hawthorne Heights built their fan base on a demo recording and a series of self-booked national tours that saw them sharing stages with the likes of From Autumn to Ashes and the Descendents. In 2003, they signed with Chicago label Victory Records, resulting in the 2004 release of their powerful full-length debut, The Silence in Black and White. While the bandmates relentlessly toured behind it, the album became Victory's highest-selling debut, and its lead single, "Ohio Is for Lovers," slowly invaded rock radio. Hawthorne Heights' second album, If Only You Were Lonely, arrived in 2006 along with a concert film titled This Is Who We Are. Leading up to the album's release, Victory urged the band's street team members to help it chart above R&B singer Ne-Yo, whose own album was slated to be released the same day. Questionable promotional tactics included rearranging store displays to hide Ne-Yo's record and make Hawthorne Heights' more prominent. Lonely debuted at number three on the charts, though more than a few eyebrows were raised in the band and label's direction. Regardless, the album continued to sell well, eventually going gold. However, the controversy came to a head in early August when Hawthorne Heights suddenly announced that they were leaving Victory Records (a move that violated a contractual obligation calling for two more albums) and suing the company over various issues, including unpaid royalties and tarnishing their name over the aforementioned incident (the band claimed to have no knowledge of the infamous street team letter). In a statement issued online, the bandmembers compared their time at the label to being in an "abusive relationship" and directly attacked "greed-driven" label head Tony Brummel. As issues were sorted out behind the scenes (and Victory countersued the band, claiming they just wanted to jump to a major's roster), Hawthorne Heights continued touring nationwide and served as a headlining act on the popular Nintendo Fusion Tour in the fall of 2006. Following several court dates with their label, Hawthorne Heights returned to the road in late 2007. However, guitarist Casey Calvert died in his sleep just several hours into the tour, the victim of a lethal combination of antidepressant medications and Vicodin (Calvert had reportedly undergone a root canal prior to the band's departure, hence his need for painkillers). Soldiering on as a quartet, the bandmates resolved their issues with Victory Records and issued a third album, Fragile Future, in August 2008. Rather than replace Calvert, the band decided to have guitarist Micah Carli fill in on vocals. In 2010, Hawthorne Heights finally did switch labels by having Wind-Up Records issue Skeletons, their fourth album. Meanwhile, Victory wrapped up its contract with the band by releasing Midwesterners: The Hits, which featured material from their first three albums. The band split from Wind-Up in 2010 and formed their own label, Cardboard Empire. Along with touring, they began work on a series of EPs, beginning with Hate in the summer of 2011 and then Hope in late 2012. The following year Hawthorne Heights showed their ambitions with Zero, a post-hardcore concept album about a group of rebels in a dystopian, near-future America. March 2018 saw the release of the single "Pink Hearts" ahead of the arrival of the full-length Bad Frequencies, which dropped later that April via Pure Noise. They issued Lost Frequencies, a companion album featuring previously unissued material recorded during the same sessions. The single "Constant Dread," which featured guest vocals from Counterparts' Brendan Murphy, arrived in early 2021 and appeared on the band's eighth full-length effort, The Rain Just Follows Me, later that September.
© James Christopher Monger /TiVo


29 álbum(ns) • Ordenado por Mais vendidos

Meus favoritos

Este elemento foi <span>adicionado aos / retirado dos </span> seus favoritos com sucesso.

Ordenar e filtrar lançamentos