Carrinho de compras 0

Serviço indisponível no momento.


Idioma disponível: inglês
Dressed in matching red track suits, Norwegian electronic-dance band Datarock were one of several groups labeled by the U.K. press as "new rave." On peppy albums like 2009 sophomore release Red, the band's unpredictable dance-punk sound was well-crafted, often tongue-in-cheek, and filled with infectious energy. Originating from the same Bergen scene as Röyksopp and the Kings of Convenience, Datarock were initially formed in 2000 around the talents of Fredrik Saroea (vocals, guitars, drums, keyboards), Ketil Mosnes (bass, programming, keyboards, backing vocals), Tom Mæland (keyboards through 2003), and Kevin O'Brien (vocals through 2000). Combining inspiration from Devo, Talking Heads, and Happy Mondays, the band issued a handful of small releases, including a 2002 limited-edition EP titled Demo/Greatest Hits on Kaptein Kaliber Records, before whittling down to the core duo of Saroea and Mosnes. Forming their own label, Young Aspiring Professionals, Datarock issued their debut full-length, Datarock Datarock, in 2005, landing an Australian radio hit with their Revenge of the Nerds-inspired track "Computer Camp Love." The following year, the album was reissued in the U.K., France, and Australia. Their upbeat indie dance grooves made them a shoe-in for prominent sync placements, and another song from their debut, "Fa-Fa-Fa," was soon heard around the world on ads for Coca-Cola and Apple's iPod. In early 2007, Datarock inked a deal with Nettwerk, where they released 2009's upbeat Red. A partnership between Nettwerk One and gaming colossus EA helped insert Datarock songs into numerous high-profile games from Fifa Street and Madden NFL to Need for Speed and Sims 2 and 3. While much of their focus during this period remained in the U.S. market, Datarock continued to tour heavily, hitting festivals all around the world. Mosnes departed in 2010, and newcomer Thomas Larssen (bass) joined the existing lineup that also included saxophonist Kjetil Møster and drummer Adrian Meehan. This lineup produced a pair of 2011 EPs, See What I Care and California, and arranged an ambitious Datarock musical that also yielded a 2015 soundtrack in The Musical, released in an edition of 300 LPs on their Young Aspiring Professionals imprint. Datarock returned in 2018 with their fourth full-length release, Face the Brutality. The next year they released A Fool at Forty Is a Fool Indeed, an EP with four new songs and various remixes.
© Timothy Monger & Kenyon Hopkin /TiVo
Ler mais


22 álbum(ns) • Ordenado por Mais vendidos

Meus favoritos

Este elemento foi <span>adicionado aos / retirado dos </span> seus favoritos com sucesso.

Ordenar e filtrar lançamentos