Carrinho de compras 0

Serviço indisponível no momento.

Alberta Cross

Idioma disponível: inglês
Alberta Cross is a country-rock-influenced indie rock act who draw the core of their sound from the foundation built by the Band and Neil Young. Consisting of a rotating lineup behind leader Petter Eriksson Stakee, the project released its full-length debut, Broken Side of Time, in 2009. The warmer Songs of Patience arrived in 2012 and was followed in tone by 2015's Alberta Cross, which was more of a singer/songwriter outing recorded with Stakee as the only official bandmember. The project combined stronger elements of pop, folk, and psychedelia on subsequent releases including 2023's Sinking Ships. Founded in London in 2005, Alberta Cross originally consisted of songwriter/vocalist/guitarist Petter Eriksson Stakee and songwriter/bassist Terry Wolfers, with Stakee, a native of Uppsala, Sweden, having traveled as a child with his singer/songwriter father. The duo expanded to include John Alexander Ericson (organ) and Seb Sternberg (drums), and Alberta Cross' first EP, the self-produced The Thief & the Heartbreaker, was released on prestigious U.K. label Fiction in May 2007. Wolfers and Stakee moved to the U.S. after that, eventually settling in New York City, leading to some personnel changes. Ericson and Sternberg were out, replaced by Alec Higgins (keys), Austin Beede (drums), and Sam Kearney (guitar). This lineup released a dark-slanted debut album, the Mike McCarthy-produced Broken Side of Time, in 2009 on ATO (U.S.) and Ark Recordings/PIAS (U.K. and Europe). In 2011, Alberta Cross issued the The Rolling Thunder EP, which was available exclusively on tour and in independent record shops. The group's more uplifting sophomore studio release, Songs of Patience, arrived on ATO/Ark/PIAS in 2012. The following year, Alberta Cross announced that Wolfers had left the band and that Stakee would continue to perform with a crew of unofficial members. Following solo acoustic residencies by Stakee in Williamsburg and the East Village in mid-2014, the group converged at Dreamland Recording, a converted church in upstate New York, to record an eponymous LP, which was released in October 2015 on Dine Alone Records. It featured only Stakee on the front cover. He and his backing band toured North America, the U.K., and Europe in 2016, with Stakee relocating to Berlin. Alberta Cross eventually returned with self-released songs from a new album in 2019, with the slightly more pop-leaning What Are We Frightened Of? following in full in June 2020. It was produced and co-written by Luke Potashnick (the Temperance Movement). By then based back in London, the project then signed with Dark Matter/AMK (with distribution by Kartel Music Group) for the March 2023 release of the more anxious Sinking Ships, which reunited Stakee and Potashnick. Recorded at the Wool Hall studio in Frome, Somerset, U.K., it included a cover of Sharon Van Etten's "Every Time the Sun Comes Up."
© Marcy Donelson /TiVo
Ler mais


15 álbum(ns) • Ordenado por Mais vendidos

Meus favoritos

Este elemento foi <span>adicionado aos / retirado dos </span> seus favoritos com sucesso.

Ordenar e filtrar lançamentos