Your basket is empty

Categories :

Similar artists



Solo Piano - Released May 25, 2018 | Evidence

Hi-Res Booklet Distinctions Diapason d'or
For his first record, the young French pianist Clément Lefebvre has selected Couperin and Rameau, whom he presents here in the very original form of an expressive journey through a single day, from morning to night. On the way, Lefebvre moves from one composer to another and playing on their suggestive titles, he underlines what unites and divides them with a subtle intelligence. Clément Lefebvre showed a keen interest in music from a young age. He started playing piano at the age of four, before discovering percussion. After studies and winning prizes in these two instruments at the Conservatoire de Lille, he decided to concentrate fully on the piano. Hortense Cartier-Bresson taught him at the Conservatoire de Boulogne-Billancourt and prepared him for the entrance competition for the Conservatoire de Paris (CNSMD). Clément Lefebvre entered the prestigious institution in 2010 and learned with Roger Muraro, Isabelle Dubuis, Claire Désert, Pierre-Laurent Aimard, and Alain Planès. He also received masterclasses from Philippe Bianconi, Xu Zhong, Michael Lewin, Christian Ivaldi, Emmanuel Strosser as well as from members of the Wanderer Trio. Clément Lefebvre won the First Prize and the Audience Prize at the 2016 James Mottram international piano competition in Manchester. A soloist, he also enjoys chamber music, whether with the Alban Berg Piano Quartet which he founded with a few friends, or as part of a duet with pianist Alexandre Leroy. © François Hudry/Qobuz

Classical - Released November 15, 2019 | Mirare

Hi-Res Booklet
This is the musical telling of a three-way friendship-romance. We know that the young, dashingly handsome Brahms, exploded into the life of the Schumann couple. "The arrival of Brahms, a genius!" notes Robert in his intimate diary, with extraordinary intuition. What follows is recounted by Shuichi Okada on violin and Clément Lefebvre on piano: two young musicians from the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris, which co-produced this release, in which they tie together the links binding the three historical figures together. The First Sonata in A Minor, Op. 105 by Schumann starts us off, followed by two extracts from the famous Sonata F-A-E, written by Schumann, Brahms and Dietrich, the latter sadly commonly overlooked by violinists. Caught in a vice between the two men who love her, here is Clara with her Three Romances, Op. 22 which precedes the melancholy Sonata No.1, Op. 78, "Regensonate" by Brahms. The music collected here tells better than words could of how the three composers answer each other and give birth to a common language, of sparks of the heart, of an effusion of feelings and of things left unsaid. © François Hudry/Qobuz