Your basket is empty

Categories :



Pop - Released October 26, 2018 | Konichiwa Records

Distinctions Pitchfork: Best New Music
In 1994, Swedish singer Robyn, a teenager at the time, shook up the world of pop with hit songs like Do You Really Want Me and Do You Know (What It Takes). Helped by RCA Records and producers Denniz Pop and Max Martin, she finally sought her independence in the 2000s, releasing two electro-pop albums both experimental and popular: Robyn (2005) and Body Talk (2010). In the same spirit, Honey doesn’t foray into flashy pop, but rather mellow bitterness (Baby Forgive Me), and even pure melancholy (Human Being), even though the tempo remains danceable. It’s worth noting that the album is produced by Klas Ahlund (who wrote eight songs for Britney Spears) and Joseph Mount (Metronomy). At the heart of this joyfully depressed album there is of course a large dose of nostalgia, nostalgia of a time when Robyn rose to instant fame. With its syncopated organ on Between the Lines and the eurodance beats of several other tracks, this album offers a sad yet benevolent return to the 1990s. It is no coincidence that the first song on this short album is titled Missing U. As for the scintillating synthesisers of Because It’s in the Music, and the sunny rhythm of Beach2k20, they also bear the mark of a distance from the past, a distance demonstrated by this “new Robyn”. © Nicolas Magenham/Qobuz