Duets - Released August 10, 2018 | Alpha

Hi-Res Booklet Distinctions 5 de Diapason
Two young Belgian soloists—including Lorenzo Gatto, despite the Italian consonance of the name—have been gathering for several years around Beethoven, and here is their interpretation of three Beethoven sonatas: the First written even before the end of the 18th Century—1798—, followed by the very last that is the Tenth Op. 96 from 1812—created by the infamous Pierre Rode on violin, and the archduke Rudolph of Austria who, incidentally, must have been an amazing pianist—, to finish with one of the most famous ones, the Fifth called “The Spring Sonata” (a name not chosen by the composer). Despite dating “only” from 1801, this sonata is incredibly different from the First regarding its architectural maturity, its intense lyricism and its audacities of all kinds. Gatto, who won the Queen Elisabeth Competition, plays on nothing less than the Stradivarius “Joachim”, while Libeer, a chamber music enthusiast, has a field day on a big concert piano with parallel strings and of an almost orchestral sound. Their first volume, released in 2016, was more than noticed by the critics and the audience—and was a great success on Qobuz. © SM/Qobuz

Violin Concertos - Released June 1, 2018 | DOREMI

Booklet Distinctions 5 de Diapason

Duets - Released December 1, 2017 | Les Indispensables de Diapason

Distinctions Diapason d'or

Classical - Released October 13, 2017 | Warner Classics

Hi-Res Booklet Distinctions Diapason d'or - Le Choix de France Musique - Choc de Classica
For true fans of Christian Ferras (1933-1982), this box set of recordings (mono and stereo) made between 1957 and 1962 is an absolute treasure chest. In the company of his good friend Pierre Barbizet, Georges Prêtre, Malcolm Sargent, Menuhin for Bach's Double and several other big names of her era, this follower of George Enesco offers up a superb selection of great concertos and great sonatas, from before the famous recordings with Karajan that covered of the lion's share of the Ferras concert repertoire. Ferras had a searing career – these recordings were made by a man aged 24 to 29 years old! His glory years ran until the end of the 1960s, before meeting with an inexorable descent into the hell of alcoholism and depression (which would drive away the big labels, the orchestras and the public) – a descent which he would end with a ten-storey fall from his Parisian apartment on 14 September 1982. The world had lost one of the greatest violinists of his time, but his legend would never die. Naturally, all these recordings have been subject to a most careful remastering, based on the original matrices. © SM/Qobuz

Classical - Released November 27, 2015 | audite Musikproduktion

Booklet Distinctions 5 de Diapason

Concertos - Released September 7, 2009 | naïve classique

Booklet Distinctions 4F de Télérama

Duets - Released September 9, 2016 | Aparté

Hi-Res Booklet Distinctions 4 étoiles de Classica

Violin Concertos - Released January 1, 2016 | Orfeo


Classical - Released May 12, 2015 | Music and Arts Programs of America

Booklet Distinctions Diapason d'or

Classical - Released September 3, 2013 | Metier


Classical - Released November 13, 2012 | Naxos


Classical - Released June 4, 2012 | Zig-Zag Territoires

Booklet Distinctions Choc de Classica - Exceptional sound

Concertos - Released May 14, 2012 | Saphir Productions


Chamber Music - Released July 5, 2010 | Wigmore Hall Live

Distinctions 5 de Diapason

Violin Concertos - Released August 29, 2006 | Naxos

Booklet Distinctions Diapason d'or

Symphonic Music - Released May 16, 2006 | Naxos


Duets - Released June 1, 2005 | Naxos