New Order, post-Joy Division

Finally remastered, "Movement", New Order's first album, retains its fascinating coldness...

By Marc Zisman | Video of the Day | April 21, 2019

Ian Curtis had only been buried for one year before the surviving members of Joy Division returned to the studio, dried their tears and attempted making music again. Out of the still reddened ashes of the most emblematic post-punk group, New Order was born. A newcomer Gillian Gilbert was on keys. The guitarist Bernard Sumner donned the captain’s armband. And Martin Hannett, Joy Division’s producer, was again behind the controls.

Recorded between the 24th of April and 4th of May 1981 and released on the 11th of November of the same year on Factory Records, the band’s first album is an impeccable transition of which time makes it only more impressive. The rigidity and coldness of Joy Division’s anthracite rock remains at the heart of the compositions. Sharp rhythms and clear guitars with depressive, sickly groans like a zombie on its last legs, Movement contains, however, beginnings of a sound atypical from the young Mancunians that never smile. We are still far from the electronic new wave and dance that New Order demonstrate on their subsequent album, but the role of keys and synths here shows beginnings of a new path for the band.

On the occasion of this reissue, the four members of the group, Bernard Sumner, Gillian Gilbert, Peter Hook and Stephen Morris, return to this mythical first album of New Order:


To follow everything we do here at Qobuz, follow us on Facebook !

What you've been reading