Carrito 0

Servicio no disponible por el momento

Simon Scott

Idioma disponible: inglés
Simon Scott is best known as the drummer for dream pop pioneers Slowdive, but he's also a prolific experimental ambient artist. A sound ecologist, Scott's solo work fuses natural sounds, acoustic instrumentation, and digital processing, with a focus on active listening. Albums such as 2009's Navigare, 2011's Bunny, and 2015's Insomni blend dark ambient drone with frayed shoegaze textures. Scott has collaborated with sound artists such as Taylor Deupree, Dag Rosenqvist, and Marcus Fischer. A native of Cambridge, England, Scott first gained recognition as the drummer for the Charlottes, a female-fronted indie pop band that formed during the late '80s. Scott left the group in order to join Slowdive in 1990, replacing that band's original drummer, Adrian Sell. After playing on Just for a Day (1991) and Souvlaki (1993), Scott left Slowdive prior to the recording of the band's third album. Briefly involved with Chapterhouse at some point during the decade, Scott later founded the short-lived noise pop group Inner Sleeve in 1997. He joined Lowgold in 1999, appearing on their 2001 debut album and participating in the group's tours with Coldplay and Grandaddy. After leaving the band in 2002, he formed Televise, which expanded on the ideas of Inner Sleeve. Their debut album, Songs to Sing in A&E, appeared in 2006; later recordings were more experimental solo affairs, pointing to the direction Scott would take during his solo career. Also during 2006, Scott founded Kesh Recordings, an outlet for experimental artists such as Finland's Hannu (whom he also assisted with production and instrumentation), Lorenzo Senni, and Kane Ikin, in addition to Scott's Televise project. In 2007, Scott and ISAN's Antony Ryan released a 7" single as Seavault, containing covers of Ultra Vivid Scene's "Mercy Seat" and Altered Images' "I Could Be Happy." Two years later, Scott released the first album under his name, the mostly drumless Navigare, on Norway's Miasmah label. The busier year of 2010 involved the 16-minute piece Nivalis (Secret Furry Hole); the four-track EP Traba (Immune); the half-hour piece Silenne (Slaapwel); and Conformists, the score to Juriaan Booij's film of the same name, which was recorded with Dag Rosenqvist. Scott also collaborated with Rafael Anton Irisarri on the Sight Below's It All Falls Apart, for which he was credited with guitar, treatments, and electronics. Bunny, another album for the Miasmah label, was issued in 2011, as was a 7" single for Sonic Pieces. After an appearance on Kompakt's Pop Ambient 2012 compilation, Below Sea Level was issued on 12k, as was Between, the self-titled album of a quintet featuring Scott, Taylor Deupree, Marcus Fischer, Corey Fuller, and Tomoyoshi Date. After participating in Slowdive's reunion tours in 2014, Scott returned to his solo career in 2015 with the release of Insomni on Ash International. The live recording FloodLines appeared on Touch in 2016, and the STUK cassette was released by The Tapeworm in early 2017. Also that year, Scott played on Slowdive's self-titled reunion album. Shape Memory, a collaboration with Fischer, appeared on 12k in 2018, followed by Grace, a solo EP on Touch.
© Andy Kellman & Paul Simpson /TiVo
Leer más


26 álbum(es) • Ordenado por Mejores ventas

Mis favoritos

Este elemento ha sido correctamente <span>añadido / eliminado</span> de sus favoritos.

Ordenar y filtrar lanzamientos