Carrito 0

Servicio no disponible por el momento

Novos Baianos

Os Novos Baianos performed an important role in the fusion of rock and Brazilian folklore rhythms, helping create MPB. A vocal and instrumental group, they were formed in Salvador, Bahia in the late 1960s by Paulinho Boca de Cantor (vocals/pandeiro), Morais Moreira (vocals/violão, or acoustic guitar), Baby Consuelo (now Baby do Brasil, vocals/percussion), and Luís Galvão (lyricist). Pepeu and his brother, Jorginho Gomes, were members of Os Leifs. In early 1969, Gilberto Gil and Caetano Veloso invited Pepeu to accompany them at their farewell show, Barra 69. Os Novos Baianos, then an unknown group, saw Os Leifs at the show and proposed that the two bands play together, given the strong instrumental background of each. Os Leifs joined Os Novos Baianos as their opening act at the Southeast at Desembarque Dos Bichos Depois do Dilúvio in 1969. The first Os Novos Baianos LP, E Ferro Na Boneca!, arrived in 1970 and included "De Vera." In 1972, after a stint with João Gilberto the previous year, the group dedicated themselves to researching Brazilian musical roots, and the result was evident on their second LP, Acabou Chorare, a milestone in the MPB movement (it also mixed choro, frevo, samba, and other genres). The group recorded another LP, Novos Baianos F.C., and disbanded in 1978, with their members departing for solo careers. In 1997, Baby do Brasil, Pepeu, Morais Moreira, and Paulinho Boca de Cantor got together to help with the book Anos 70: Novos e Baianos by Luís Galvão, and to commemorate for the commemoration of Moreira's 50 anniversary. All of them, including Galvão, re-formed for the recording of Infinito Circular (Polygram, 1997). Luís Galvão, the group's principal lyricist, died in São Paulo, Brazil on October 22, 2022. He was 87 years old.
© Alvaro Neder /TiVo


17 álbum(es) • Ordenado por Mejores ventas

Mis favoritos

Este elemento ha sido correctamente <span>añadido / eliminado</span> de sus favoritos.

Ordenar y filtrar lanzamientos