Metal - To be released October 20, 2017 | Eagle Rock

Rock - To be released September 29, 2017 | Eagle Rock

Pop - Released September 15, 2017 | Eagle Rock

Rock - Released June 30, 2017 | Eagle Rock

Rock - Released June 16, 2017 | Eagle Rock

Rock - Released June 9, 2017 | Eagle Rock

Recorded at the NEC, Birmingham, U.K. in 2016 after two shows in Germany, Ritchie Blackmore returned to his Rainbow roots to perform a selection of the band's hits. Backed by a full band -- including vocalist Ronnie Romero, whom Blackmore discovered online -- the group run through fan favorites including "Catch the Rainbow," "Since You've Been Gone," and "Smoke on the Water." ~ Rich Wilson

Rock - Released June 9, 2017 | Eagle Rock

Rich Robinson decided to reach out to Marc Ford in 2014, a gesture that healed a decade's worth of animosity between the two Black Crowes guitarists. They in turn brought former Crowes keyboardist Eddie Harsch into a circle that included Robinson's touring band -- which also featured Sven Pipien, who played bass in the waning days of the Black Crowes -- and this crew of seven musicians and three backup singers formed the Magpie Salute. Harsch passed during the recording of the group's eponymous 2017 debut -- they recruited Matt Slocum in his place -- but the essential fact remains: the Magpie Salute sound like a reconstituted version of the Black Crowes, only heavier. Some of that weight is due to how the focus of the group is on the interplay between Robinson and Ford, who keep spiraling solos and riffs, intertwining and weaving instead of battling. Some of this heaviness is also due to the absence of Chris Robinson, who was a charismatic frontman in the Crowes and also brought along a strong dose of hippie mysticism. Despite a cover of Pink Floyd's "Fearless," the Magpie Salute have no time for the cosmos. They're proudly earthbound as they crank out versions of old Delaney & Bonnie and Faces tunes, dabbling in a few deep Crowes cuts for good measure. The presence of these oldies underscores how this group is mature -- not as reckless in approach, but confident and assured, a band of lifers who still gain sustenance from playing the music of their life. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Rock - Released April 21, 2017 | Eagle Rock

Fifty years after "Whiter Shade of Pale" introduced the concept of progressive rock, Procol Harum roll on, even with singer and pianist Gary Brooker as the only remaining original member. Novum is their first new studio album in 14 years. Their last, 2003's The Well's on Fire, marked the end of the decades-long writing partnership between Brooker and lyricist Keith Reid. Organist Matthew Fisher and drummer Mark Brzezicki left shortly thereafter. Brooker still had guitarist Geoff Whitehorn and bassist Matt Pegg. They recruited organist Josh Phillips and drummer Greg Dunn. This version has been together for a decade. Novum is a worthy 50th anniversary offering (though it's not, as Brooker claims, Procol's finest). This is the sound of a working band, not a tired reunion project. Brooker enlisted lyricist Pete Brown -- known for his work with Cream and Graham Bond -- and in an unusual move, brought the entire band into the songwriting process. What's on offer here is the most rocking sound Procol Harum have delivered since Broken Barricades. There is only one overtly "classical" moment here, and it’s a send up -- there's a direct quote from Pachelbel's Canon as a brief intro to the wonderful "Sunday Morning.” Some truly perverse lyric moments are expertly crafted into well-composed songs (would we expect anything less?). Opener “I Told on You” is a forceful prog rocker about professional jealousy, bitterness, and retribution. Its bridge and chorus are classic Brooker (think Home and Grand Hotel). “Last Chance Motel” is a strange and ironic take on the murder ballad that recalls the musical structure of early Elton John and Bernie Taupin tunes. It’s among the many vehicles here for Brooker’s voice, which remains as resonant and expressive as ever -- there’s the hint of graininess in it, but his power remains undiminished by time. There are also some atypical, straight-on political swipes at hyper-capitalism, too, as on the bluesy “Soldier” and the meld of mean rock and Baroque pop in “Businessman.” “Don’t Get Caught” commences as a ballad with Brooker’s trademark nearly sepulchral singing, but becomes an anthem offering sage advice for guilt-free living atop blazing guitars and swelling strings. One might hear traces of Queen's extended sense of vocal harmony in the rowdy chorus of the loopy "Neighbor," but Brian May himself would admit that Queen snagged it from Procol Harum in the first place. "Can't Say That" is an angry number and it rocks hard: Brooker's signature piano style runs up hard against Whitehorn's electric blues guitar vamps (think the Doors' "Roadhouse Blues") with a killer Pegg bassline. "The Only One" offers Brooker at his most confessional and melancholy, as he builds himself up and lets himself glide down the poignant lyric. Novum is far better than anyone had any right to expect: It's energetic, hungry, and swaggering. That said, it retains the trademark class and musical sophistication that makes Procol Harum iconic. ~ Thom Jurek

Rock - Released April 7, 2017 | Eagle Rock

Rock - Released November 25, 2016 | Eagle Rock

Rock - Released October 14, 2016 | Eagle Rock

Rock - Released September 16, 2016 | Eagle Rock

Rock - Released June 24, 2016 | Eagle Rock

Rock - Released June 17, 2016 | Eagle Rock